We use CHY-MAX Plus vegetarian rennet in our cheesemaking.
Traditional rennet, which contains the enzyme Chymosin, has been derived from calf stomach lining.
Chymosin that is produced by a fermentation process, and is suitable for vegetarians. CHY-MAX Plus Contains Chymosin, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Benzoate and is manufactured by CHR Hansen. It is certified Kosher, Halal, Vegetarian and GMO free.
Rennet is used to transform milk into a set curd. The dosage is as per your recipe, or approximately .25ml per litre of milk. Dilute your rennet in a little cooled, boiled water before adding to the milk.
50ml of CHY-MAX Plus Vegetarian Rennet will treat approximately 200 litres of milk.
Store your rennet in the refrigerator, and check the Best Before Date regularly.
If you are purchasing CHY-MAX Plus Vegetarian Rennet, you may also require Calcium Chloride Solution